Moving on…Up?

1918 Republic Trucks Moving Van

1918 Republic Trucks Moving Van (Photo credit: aldenjewell)

This week, along with being calendared for a blog post here on Main Street, I am moving. Sigh! Is there anything worse?

While my best buddy and all around awesome kid is on spring break and road tripping with family, I’m packing and moving! This may be my least favorite thing, in the world, to do. I doubt many people enjoy it, because it really is grueling. There is the packing, the finding things you thought you got rid of in the 90’s, the dust bunnies you swear you don’t get and of course the backache you will inevitably have. My bright side thought is that this might be exceptional motivation to succeed at my craft or at the very least maybe I will be able to work up a story about hot moving guys! 🙂

The one good thing about moving, is the fresh start in a new space. I get to plan new furniture layouts, I get to put things up on the walls and find new ways and places to store things. I will locate a favorite spot in the house. These things will be fun. The new place has more light

The bad thing about moving, it usually breaks either your back or your bank, sometimes both. I will have at least two days where I cannot locate the one thing I absolutely must have that day. And then there is the whole being EXHAUSTED thing.

And yet there is a part of me that is ready for the change, ready to go and start again, excited to find my new favorite spot, in my new home. It’s spring cleaning to the max. Oh and did I mention I will finally have an office area for my writing. 🙂 Big Bright Side!

So, I am going to get through the a couple of days of being tired and irritated with life and then wait for the moment when it’s all settled and I can sigh….but this time because I am once again content.

Late Spring cleaning

Late Spring cleaning (Photo credit: storebukkebruse)

For a good sigh from a great book, take a peek at our Authors Tab and Our Books Tab above and find a new book and/or a new author to love and rave about at your next lunch with friends. We thank you as always for stopping by today and checking out Main Street.

Kindly,
Kelly

4 thoughts on “Moving on…Up?

  1. Good luck on your move, Kelly. It’s so exciting to have a writing office! Having more light is a wonderful thing every time of year because it seems to add to the cheeriness of a space. More your new home bring every joy to you and all those who enter your door. Here’s a Celtic Blessing I particularly love: “May joy & peace surround you, Contentment latch your (new) door, And happiness be with you now And bless you evermore.”

    Congrats on your new home!

    Like

  2. I feel your frustration — and tiredness! I’ll be moving in the fall. I’m looking forward to the new house we’ve bought, but not to moving nor to the selling of our present home. Wishing you good luck with the move!

    Like

  3. Thank you ladies! One hiccup…they couldn’t get my wifi up until today. Yikes!! No Internet but for that on my phone since Sunday. Withdrawal is not a strong enough word. Once it’s all unpacked, organized and spruced I’ll be one very happy lady. The light is already brightening my spirits, even if I couldn’t shout it over the Internet right away! 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.