My Sunday Nights in the Highlands

OUTLANDER-678x1024I usually have my blog posts drafted well in advance, but yesterday I was still stuck for something to write about for today’s post. Casting about for ideas, I asked myself, what am I excited about today? The first thing that came to mind was the most recent installment of Outlander that I was looking forward to watching.

I’ve been a fan of Diana Gabaldon’s best-selling Outlander series for years, ever since my friend sent me a copy of the first book, raving that it had the best-written love scenes she’d ever read (I can’t disagree). For those who aren’t familiar with it, Outlander is the story of Claire Randall, a 1940s English nurse who walks into an ancient stone circle in Scotland and slips back in time two hundred years. She’s desperate to return to her own time until she falls for a chivalrous Jacobite outlaw. The quality of Gabaldon’s writing, the historical detail and the gripping storyline hooked me and compelled me to keep picking up the next volume (daunting as it is to start a thousand-page book when you are a busy working mom). Who could resist Jamie Fraser, the highland hunk who expresses his feelings more eloquently and more often than any man in history?

Having watched the first four episodes, I’m not disappointed in the TV adaptation. The actors portraying Claire and Jamie believably represent the characters that readers have come to know and love. All the little details, from the costumes and music to the misty highland scenery, make every minute a treat to watch.

Are you an Outlander fan and if so, what do you think of the TV series?


Click here to sign up for our newsletter and you could win a copy of mmusic box set finaly historical series, the Music Box Series. The winner will be announced in the October newsletter.

Visit my website to find out more about my books.

11 thoughts on “My Sunday Nights in the Highlands

  1. I haven’t seen any of the series so can’t offer an opinion except that I’m surprised it took so long for the story to be adapted for TV or movies. I always expected it to be a big screen blockbuster. Why wasn’t it?

    Like

  2. I love time travel. Your post made me go to the library in search of Outlander. (I read it eons ago.) It wasn’t there. So I looked online and it was checked out in every Orange County library in the system. Oh, to have that kind of staying power! To have all of your books checked out twenty years later!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never got into the books, had not even really heard about them, until this Starz series. I have clearly been lost in my own world! Anywhooooo, I love the series so much that I have since placed a hold on the first book with my library, a digital copy that will be sent to my kindle in the next few days. I am very excited. I also got my little sister (17) and my step mom -, who loves this genre – into the show and now they are reading the series! I sure hope I can hit a chord like this one day! 🙂

    Like

  4. I haven’t seen the series, although Scottish friends of mine love it. I can’t wait until it’s available on Amazon. I picked up the first book years ago and never finished it. I can’t remember why. I’m going to have to remedy that!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.