Blessings for Spring

I’ve been thinking quite a lot about blessings lately and how to write them. Blessings should come as naturally as swearing in traffic or gesturing like a mad woman at the computer when the words don’t flow and I feel like my brain has morphed into cotton candy. Yet they don’t. Not for me.

flowers-hd-wallpapers

I think the reason I’ve been working on reading and writing blessings is that life has been challenging over the last year or so for me and many of my friends and acquaintances. Challenges that are more than inconvenient. In many cases, these challenges have been life altering. Even potentially good alterations in life can truly stink at the moment. When these challenges come and it’s time to take a deep breath and say, Well hell, that didn’t go as planned…time for a new plan, many of us fall back on our work to keep us whole.

spring-flowers

Work is something we all do. It is something each and every one of us wants to take pride in and do our utmost to see done well no matter what it iswith the possible exceptions of answering e-mails and maintaining a clean house. Spring is a time when, for most of us who write, we start to panic at all that we need to see done before the year’s end. If you don’t have this quasi-paniced drive and worry kicking in now, skip immediately to the blessing, you are already well adjusted.

spring-flowers-flowers-31493903-1024-753

I love the energy of spring. The new growth. The feeling that, yes!, this is going to be the best work year for me yet. I will see better work accomplished. I will improve in craft, content and volume of what I do. These are things I can control. These are doable things. To achieve that there must be balance and an appreciation that not everything is going to go according to plan. That can be a good thing too.

flowers

So, as spring progresses and life begins to bloom again in the world around us, I am hopeful it will bloom in our spirits with renewed energy. We are looking forward to our new box set here on Main Street and it has the same theme: LOVE BLOOMS. Indeed, it does. Always.

spring-flowers-pictures

Here’s a blessing I love from John O’ Donohue in his book on Celtic spirituality, Anam Cara:

May the light of your soul guide you. May the light of your soul bless the work you do with the secret love and warmth of your heart. May you see in what you do the beauty of your own soul. May the sacredness of your work bring healing, light, and renewal to those who work with you and to those who see and receive your work. May your work never weary you. May it release within you wellsprings of refreshment, inspiration, and excitement. May you be present in what you do. May you never become lost in the bland absences. May the day never burden. May dawn find you awake and alert, approaching your new day with dreams, possibilities, and promises. May evening find you gracious and fulfilled. May you go into the night blessed, sheltered, and protected. May your soul calm, console, and renew you.

May you always find something sacred in every day. I hope spring brings a feeling of renewal to you all. May each of us strive for perfection and find excellence at least once every day in whatever we do. Happy Spring!

 

Leigh  

13 thoughts on “Blessings for Spring

  1. Thanks for the wonderful blessing. Love, love, love the spring time blossoms, especially the purple garden path! To have a bench nearby and just be able to gaze upon it and write my ‘morning pages’ would please me no end.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Pepper. The images I chose for this blog are not of my gardens since everything is still grey and brown here and these flowers made me smile. I’m intrigued by the path as well. I think I’ve found my newest garden planning design 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I know the feeling, Susan. It takes a while for flowers to bloom here too, but once they do, some varieties like the Jonny jump-ups, marigolds, begonias, impatiens, and shrub roses bloom well into autumn. So, we do get color and scent for at least 5 months a year 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I envy those who seem to go through life in a happy mode all the time. I’ve known several people in my lifetime who were/are that way. Seems my life is more of a roller coaster and that light near the end of the tunnel has never been a good thing. :-/ But with all the downs, there are always those moments that make us laugh and things that make us say thank goodness!

    To me, nature is a source of inspiration and peace. I can’t look at a daffodil, buttercup, or even a dandelion without smiling. There’s something about that bright yellow that smiles at me and forces me to smile back. I can’t help but notice those little mirrors of sunshine. And maybe that’s my blessing because for a few moments nature smiles and nothing else matters.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Love the line, “little mirrors of sunshine” ~ lovely, E. It is important to honor the emotions that come from what life throws us, I just needed to search for blessings for a while until suddenly I didn’t need to search quite so hard to see them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John O’ Donohue’s blessing is beautiful. So calming. Thanks for sharing. Our colors are staggering here in the South. I look across at my neighbor’s Red Bud in bloom, back to my yellow Jonquils that surround the gorgeous Japanese Magnolia in full bloom, their purple flowers are outstanding. My Forsythia are in bloom and add a yellow edge to adorn my fence. So beautiful.

    I recall Celestine Sibley’s granddaughter telling me Celestine wouldn’t allow her Forsythia to ever be trimmed. She wanted them left the way God intended. I think she was right. I love watching the winds wave them around as if to say, “Hello. I’m back!”

    Other flowers peek just above the ground and I can’t wait for them to show their faces. Yes, Spring brings new life and a special feeling that no matter what, we are in the midst of changes. Blessings among the changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Every bloom makes my heart expand, Carol. Here’s to spring, second chances, new blooms and every blessing, no matter how small. Every blessing fills the heart with hope.

      Like

    • Posted this on Wednesday, Joan, and by Monday, it’s snowing here again. No kidding. About two inches on all the greenery…gotta love Wisconsin 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.