Are You a Wall Builder?

file7231280923234

I used to wonder why people would throw a wall of protection around themselves. True, those were emotional walls, but if I thought I didn’t build walls, then maybe it was time to reconsider my actions and opinions.

I don’t believe there are many that haven’t made sacrifices at one time or another. Those sacrifices aid either ourselves, family or friends, well you get the picture. I know if I give up something in order to help out, I also throw up a wall to get through whatever project confronts me. Which is a different kind of wall, one that brings the task at hand to completion.

Walls are built to block out everything imaginable. They’re constructed by everything from concrete substances to guard privacy, or for attention accomplishment, to abstract thinking.

For me, as a writer, a wall is built to deliver time to work within my own insight. Not someone else’s. And, as a writer, I believe some walls are a good thing. Character development isn’t possible without complete concentration. That’s when I construct a wall, otherwise I’d get nothing done. If I let down my guard and allow the wall to crumble before the task is fulfilled, then I’m backing up.

Puzzle

So, are you a wall builder? Are you waiting for the rain? I do a little of both.

10 thoughts on “Are You a Wall Builder?

  1. Build a wall? Heck, I dig a cave and crawl in! It’s the only way I can write. I haven’t figured out how people can go places like Starbucks and write. Too many distractions for me. I people watch there, socialize, etc. Then I come home and write up a storm.

    But I do construct those invisible walls to protect myself from people. I think most of us do. Those walls guard us and keep us safe. I never really thought about it, but I guess not all of them are good. Maybe it has something to do with what we are trying to protect ourselves from?

    Like

    • Lol on the cave, E. I fully understand. I can’t concentrate with so much going on, unless I’m seated in an out of the way table and soft music playing. I used to be able to shut out everyone and everything, but that’s changed. You have a lot on your plate, E. Here’s to making our walls productive. 🙂

      Like

  2. Great question, Carol. I’m finding of late that I’m actually writing more when I leave my Cave O’Writing and enter the human world. I say that with a laugh because when I pack my bag and write at Panera or Barnes or the local tea shop I love, I stick in my ear-buds crank up my epic music and enter the world of “other” where the story resides. If that isn’t a wall, I’m not sure what else it could be; especially when I pull my hat down over my eyes and send out that, “don’t mess with me, I’m creating wonderful things,” vibe. Even then, in those moments where I look up and passively engage, there’s always something I can use….a mother yelling at a child…an older couple holding hands…

    Like

  3. Yes, I believe you have a wall! The ear plugs work great. People watching really changes up a scene sometimes. I’m not real happy when a stranger looks over my shoulder and asks what I’m writing. I won’t venture out anytime soon. 🙂

    Like

  4. Yes I build a wall around myself when I write. A wall so thick I don’t hear my husband or his TV when I write. I’m deep inside myself in my characters’ world, smiling or laughing, or crying, but not talking.

    Like

  5. I am currently sitting with earphones on, building walls and reading through a first draft novella. So, I guess that answers that – I even pretend I can’t hear when I really can sometimes. 🙂 I am so mean! LOL

    Like

  6. Carol, I’m not sure how that wall gets there because I’m not aware of building it! But darn if I don’t find myself behind some invisible shield – like a cone of silence – when I’m writing and it doesn’t matter if I’m in the middle of Grand Central Station!
    Once when I was younger and writing at my parent’s kitchen table my sister yelled “fire” just to see if she could break through. I heard her, and smiled to myself, but just kept on writing.
    Still don’t know how it happens…

    Like

  7. Thoughtful post, Carol. When the kids were little, I could tune them out and really get into my fictional world. Not so any more. Now I have to be alone in the house or with my office door closed if hubby is home. I guess once the kids grew up, and we had the house to ourselves that I grew accustomed to the quiet thus losing the ability to tune everything out. At least, that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. *g*

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.