Escape Into Life

Yes, there are times I want to escape and find a place to hide. With life being so crazy these days, I can’t seem to find time to get everything done. But, I step back and take everything into consideration and start at the top of my priority list. This week, my list grew by leaps and bounds. So much going on it was hard to breathe some days. Every time I tried to  stick to one, just one project, the phone would ring and off I go to take care of something or someone.

But you know what? I had to step back again and decide if I wanted to run my life or let someone else run it for me. Some things aren’t worth the time it takes to keep life in shambles. I prefer a routine and staying organized keeps me sane.

Talk about the priority list growing! The heat has kept me from finishing several chores around the yard. But, you know what? The work will be there when it cools off, and that decision takes the pressure off!

I’d love to escape to the beach with good books, a computer and my family. Spending time with family is the best way to enjoy quality time with those you love. I’ve had my grandson for the past three days and the time we spent together was priceless. He’s going into the sixth grade this year and has grown so much physically and mentally the past year. His dad let him cut the grass for the first time a few weeks ago. Now he wants to come over and cut ours. But, we live on the main road so I wouldn’t feel safe with him cutting the front yard. When his dad has time to come with him, we’ll see about him helping us out.

Escape  is a good thing. You can rejuvenate your mind and soul, and we all need special times alone. So many times I’d like to go back to my grandmother’s home place, sit in her rocking chair and stare out over the lush green fields and garden. My grandmother was a hard worker and I can’t ever remember her complaining about anything. She simply did whatever came next because it was the thing to do. Times have changed since way back then. But, I believe taking life in stride as she did would do me a world of good.

While escape isn’t possible at the moment, I’m going to think of my grandmother’s life and be thankful for all the conveniences today’s women have available.

The spectrum is wide and I’ll choose to escape into dreams for the moment.

12 thoughts on “Escape Into Life

  1. Hi Carol, enjoy your grandson. I’m enjoying my granddaughters now. They are growing too fast, and I won’t see them again until Christmas. So they are my top priority now. Talking about escape. With them around, I forget my deadlines, routine, and daily worries,

    Like

    • Christmas is so far away, especially when visits with the grandchildren are concerned. I’m blessed mine live about twenty minutes away. Lol. On forgetting everything? Yes, enjoying the sweet grandchildren takes precedence! Have fun with those you love, until the next time. 🙂

      Like

  2. When I have the chance to play with my granddaughter, I drop everything and go for it! She’s only 15 months old now, and every day brings new discoveries for her. I’m so happy to live close enough to her to be a part of her life. We’re lucky grandmas, aren’t we?

    Like

    • Sandy, at age 15 months, your granddaughter is the sweetest armful of love outside your children! As you well know. Such a precious time for the both of you. I’m so glad you are close enough to spend as much time as you can with your special blessing. Yes. Yes we are among the lucky ones! Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  3. While reading your post, I thought of a time in my life when rocking on the front porch in the summer time at dusk brought out the fireflies…I wonder where that memory came from. It was a simpler time, an enjoyed moment in my life.
    Enjoy the moment…

    Like

  4. I remember the fireflies. We used to catch them and put in jars. 🙂 My grandson does it now. Thinks it’s such fun. Ah, the simple life. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Yes, times were simple back then. Hah! Do we want to wash our clothes in a wringer washer and hang them on the line to dry? I tried the line drying because everyone said that everything smells so good. No thanks! I like the scent of my Bounce dryer sheets. I don’t fold a wasp into my jeans, and I don’t have to worry about rewashing the sheets because some darling bird pooped on them!

    Long distance phone calls were so expensive. And yes, letters were nice to receive, but today we’re in constant touch with our friends and family. That grandchild that is eight states away visits via Skype. I think all the technology is wonderful.

    Do I love sitting on the porch in the evening? Yes! Except we aren’t swatting a mosquitoes every five seconds. Many things have changed for the better. We just need to remember to smell the roses, magnolias, gardenias, and the dianthus. And never turn down the opportunity to cuddle into the arms of our real life heroes.
    E.

    Like

  6. Dear Carol,
    Thanks for the reminder that sometimes all we need to rejuvenate is a wonderful memory. I hope your grandson gets the chance to mow your lawn over, and over again! Happy end of June, my friend, and here’s hoping we all find time for those projects life keeps interrupting. Wonderful post.

    Leigh

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.