Real Life Versus Writing Life by Joan Reeves #AoMS

Blog_Beautiful-woman-with-thoughtfu-29888243_BSPI’m late publishing this post today because I came up empty in the find an entertaining subject category. I just can’t think of anything except how down in the dumps I feel. You see I’m tired and real life is hell-bent on interfering with my writing life.

Do you ever feel that when you set goals, the universe throws all the storms of life at you to keep you from achieving them?

That’s how I feel. I had all these ambitious plans for finishing out my various series this year plus writing some special Christmas projects.

Real Life laughed and said, “Think again.”

Even though my time is being used for a good cause, and my time away from writing won’t be forever, it’s still a let-down to watch the days slip away with nothing done.

All week I’ve been frustrated by not following through on my goals–even though it’s not my fault. Rather than bemoan my lack of sleep and lack of time, I decided to remind myself of something I wrote in an email to a couple of friends who were aspiring authors whose energy was flagging on the long journey to publication.

This is good advice regardless of what you’re trying to achieve.

Image of businessman rolling a giant stone

Feel as if you’re pushing a boulder uphill?

Good Advice If Trying to Achieve Something Amazing

Nothing great was ever created quickly. To develop a great scientific discovery, to paint a masterpiece, to write a book, to become a minister or a college graduate–to do anything great or different requires time, patience, and perseverance.

Goals are achieved by degrees, little by little.

Michelangelo did not paint the Sistine Chapel ceiling in a day. Mozart did not compose his most famous work in a day, Milton did not write Paradise Lost at one sitting, nor did Shakespeare create Hamlet in a day.

Just as the most famous musicians begin with basic musical notes and artists first draw with Crayons, the greatest writer who ever lived began with the alphabet. With words. You too must start there.

Whatever your chosen goal, begin with baby steps that will lead you to giant steps.

To do anything great requires time, patience, and perseverance. Accept this and get started.

That’s my good advice for all of you, and for myself today.

AFB_2400px3200p_NYT99cents Sale

In my romantic comedy APRIL FOOL BRIDE, on sale for only 99cents, Maddie has a goal and is determined to achieve it.

Oil heiress Madeline Quinn needs a husband by the time she turns twenty-five in order to claim her full inheritance. Mad Maddie, as the tabloids christened her, has learned the hard way that men only see dollar signs when they look at her.

Maddie decides a marriage of convenience is the only answer. She turns to the one man in the world she can trust, her housekeeper’s son who always treated her like a little sister when they were kids growing up together.

Jake Becker hasn’t seen Maddie since the night she tried to seduce him. Why should he help the woman who changed the course of his life? Simple. Revenge.

Or is it something else? Something hot and smouldering that will not be denied?

FB_Fall in Love_04_1832px2200pPost Script

I’d be delighted if you’d follow me on 1 or all of these: Amazon, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Triple delighted if you sign up for WordPlay, my email list/newsletter for readers so I can give you a free book.

8 thoughts on “Real Life Versus Writing Life by Joan Reeves #AoMS

  1. Because some times your family just needs you! Just keep creeping forward! Best of luck with getting back into your writer’s cave. It will be there waiting for you.

    I always tell myself when I’m having those times where I’ve been pulled from the keyboard that those days belong to my muse. I allow it to run free, plot, plan, and have fun. I swear it makes the writing easier when I do get back, because I know ten times more about my story and where it is going.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Excellent advice, Joan! Life does kick us out of the writer’s chair once in a while, other times…often. During those times when the muse is silent, I have no choice but wait on her to wake up. Good luck getting back to the keyboard.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I love that reminder, and as I sit here, knocked down by strep and feeling guilty that I’m not using this quality downtime to write, I’m relieved to know my work will still be waiting when I’m ready to return to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for all your comments. I would have replied sooner, but “Real Life” turned vicious. Power went off at 1am Monday. Pounding rain, hail, and wind. Welcome to the 2016 Flood. No flooding where I am but no power until late Monday night. Tuesday spent with more rain while we checked on friends. 1 lost 1 of their cars. Another has no water in her house but there’s 4 feet of water in the street leading to her house so she’s trapped until they come with airboats. Sheriff’s Department and others have been evacuating non-stop since Monday. We live less than a mile from Cypress Creek. Kind of boxed in on north and west by creek flooding. Don’t think we’ll flood but if we do, things can be replaced and inconveniences will eventually end. We’re good as long as we survive.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.